Continue hunting or move back to plants?

Pointing, retrieving, flushing, tracking, behavioral issues, puppy training, etc.

Moderator: Moderator Pack

Continue hunting or move back to plants?

Postby reader4 » Fri Oct 30, 2020 12:23 pm

I'm new to pointing breeds and have a question about the "best" path with my 7mo small munsterlander. Quick background: Training during summer went really well with bird exposure 1-2 per week, very good search and point, and culminated in a very good NA test in late September. Early hunting in the grouse woods yielded some good results -- wild flushes were helping to bring out an earlier point. Lately we've been able to hit local areas for woodcock, pheasants and ducks on the jump a couple of times a week, but often only for 45-90min or so after work or between drop-off/pick-up for kids.

What I've noticed is that his point has really faded. He's not picking up the woodcock well (or pointing them), and he's more apt to track/chase pheasant than point (fair, since they've been running a lot). Recently we were in a field with dozens of snipe and I thought it might be a good opportunity for a few points but they got zero attention. He is quite happy to point and pounce on field mice... My read is that he's developed a bit of adolescent boldness, and frat-boy immaturity (it's not the only place this is showing up), and has lost his way a bit on the birds. It's also true that he hasn't had as much exposure to these birds yet since training emphasized quail, chukar and pigeons.