Ten Year Question

General Sporting Dog Discussion

Moderator: Moderator Pack

Ten Year Question

Postby PAkid » Thu Mar 05, 2015 8:02 am

I am new to the versatile dog world and this forum. I have been searching the forums and have learned a lot. I see that this forum is over ten years old, and that many users have been hunting for much longer than that.

I am curious to hear opinions as to which breed/strain/ breeding program has improved the most in terms of hunting, testing, health, and temperament in the last ten years? And which breed/strain has fallen out of favor?

Also which of the more recent European imported breeds/strains have gained a respectable foothold in the US and will make a larger impact in the next ten years?
PAkid
Pup
Pup

Re: Ten Year Question

Postby Steve Anker » Mon Mar 09, 2015 7:35 am

CLUMBER SPANIEL.........!
Steve "HOSS" Anker
ANKER OUTFITTERS
A-TEAM Gun Dog Training
FEATHER TERROR KENNELS

"Time with my dogs clears my mind, renews my faith, and lets me see the world as it is. My only regret loving dogs as I do, is the misery of their early departure." Robert G. Wehle
Steve Anker
Champion Poster
Champion Poster

Postby orhunter » Mon Mar 09, 2015 11:23 am

Yes, the Clumber's popularity has grown by leaps and bounds.

I would say the biggest looser is the Brittany and to a lesser degree, the English Setter and certainly the Weimaraner. All the ugly breeds have taken a huge leap forward. The EP is and always has been strong.
SARCASM, one of the many free services I offer
orhunter
Champion Poster
Champion Poster

Postby Steve Anker » Mon Mar 09, 2015 1:51 pm

Pointers.....

They have been MY number one dog for around 50 years now, give er take a few years!
But don't go by me....after all I tout the CLUMBER SPANIEL.

Harvey... I'd bet, is more familiar wifff the hairy breeds, the ones that resemble a Wooley Mammoth.
The fuzzywooleywheredoIstartandwheredoIendhairballmakers.... 8)
Steve "HOSS" Anker
ANKER OUTFITTERS
A-TEAM Gun Dog Training