Scam?

General Sporting Dog Discussion

Moderator: Moderator Pack

Scam?

Postby double lung » Fri Aug 03, 2012 1:19 pm

Well maybe not a scam as I am sure a dog would arrive for money exchanged, but I am suspicious of the truthfulness of the situation as presented. Here are the details:
A few weeks ago I came across an add for a WPG. There are absolutely no breeders anywhere near me so I was curious and inquired, dog was sold, seller claims it is a fantastic pup but was an alpha dog and they already had an alpha dog griffon as the reason for selling, which seemed a little suspicious but what do I know.

A few weeks later they have another pup for sale says a friend bought a griff pup and it just got in from the states yesterday. Owners found out they were pregnant day dog arrived and cannot keep it, fantastic blood lines, super pup, potential as a stud dog, must go to hunting family etc all contact info for same seller as last time. I asked for details, sent numerous pictures of a cute puppy and parents pedigree No info on who breeder is, hips, testing etc. I look up dam, she tested no prize and prize three in NAVHDA NA and would have been just barely two years old at time of breeding, Owner of dam does not show up on any searches for breeders. I find registry of sire, but no testing records, also a young dog but from a known kennel. Owner of dam does not show up on any searches for breeders.

So through this my scam sensors are going off, I am suspecting they are bringing in pups, attaching a story to them and selling them off as a chance in a lifetime act now situation. Asking price is $1600.

Curious what your thoughts on this would be or if you have heard of this before, maybe I am overly suspicious in this age of the internet.
double lung
Started
Started
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 4:14 pm

Re: Scam?

Postby orhunter » Fri Aug 03, 2012 6:12 pm

The price alone says scam. Might test the water with a rubber check....ha ha.
SARCASM, one of the many free services I offer
orhunter
Champion Poster
Champion Poster
 
Posts: 8704
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2002 12:29 am
Location: nw oregon

Re: Scam?

Postby GRIFF MAN » Sat Aug 04, 2012 6:27 am

WOW !!

Thanks for sharing this info ! As a breeder I always am scared of things like this happening. I do have right of first refusal in my contracts, but if they are crooks they sure as heck won't be respecting a contract !

I have had several weird inquiries over the last year. Guys that don't ask many questions but are in a rush to send you money for a pup....I never sell a pup to anyone I get a funny feeling about !!

Can you PM me as to where this guy is from


GRiffMan
GRIFF MAN * LOVING LIFE AND MY GRIFF!

Aspen Glo's Kennels
Wirehaired Pointing Griffons
www.aspenglokennel.com
User avatar
GRIFF MAN
Champion Poster
Champion Poster
 
Posts: 2405
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2003 8:16 am
Location: wisconsin

Re: Scam?

Postby double lung » Tue Aug 07, 2012 12:55 pm

well, I think I was right on with the scam meter, checked again today, now there is a female for sale for $1,500, says they bought two and flipped a coin for which they would pick.

that is three griff pups in less than a month they have attempted to rehome.

DL
double lung
Started
Started
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 4:14 pm

Re: Scam?

Postby GRIFF MAN » Tue Aug 07, 2012 1:58 pm

I'd contact them and tell them you know what they are doing and you'll be watching them and you will contact all the breeders you can so they will know what they are doing.

That may be enough to stop them from flippin' pups !!


Griff
GRIFF MAN * LOVING LIFE AND MY GRIFF!

Aspen Glo's Kennels
Wirehaired Pointing Griffons
www.aspenglokennel.com
User avatar
GRIFF MAN
Champion Poster
Champion Poster
 
Posts: 2405
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2003 8:16 am
Location: wisconsin

Re: Scam?

Postby bluestemkennels » Wed Aug 08, 2012 8:40 am

We've had similar experiences....no interest in talking dogs or hunting, just want to send you a check and get the pup asap. No Sale.

Anyone re-homing young pups should be able to refer you back to the breeder and it is in your best interest to speak with the breeder before you buy the pups.

Good luck,

Bluestem
Bluestem Kennels
AKC Wirehaired Pointing Griffon Breeder
http://www.bluestemkennels.com
User avatar
bluestemkennels
Senior Poster
Senior Poster
 
Posts: 118
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 2:22 pm
Location: Nebraska


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Freeze, Google [Bot] and 3 guests