West method training & the NAVHDA NA Test

Pointing, retrieving, flushing, tracking, behavioral issues, puppy training, etc.

Moderator: Moderator Pack

West method training & the NAVHDA NA Test

Postby CZfan107 » Sat Mar 10, 2018 7:25 am

Will be getting a pup in the next few months and would like to complete the NAVHDA NA test some time in the future. Plan to use Maurice Lindley West method training . Would this style of training interfere with the NAVHDA natural ability test or should i wait after NA test to train west method ? I am new to pointer training so please excuse my inexperience i also joined NAVHDA group without a dog LOL.
CZfan107
Started
Started

Re: West method training & the NAVHDA NA Test

Postby orhunter » Sat Mar 10, 2018 9:58 am

Depends on the age of the pup at test time.

Training for NA is pretty simple. The three things the pup must do are track, go in the water with enthusiasm and point. We don't train a dog to point, it's all natural, but pup must be put into situations where it can point and this involves birds. Wild birds are best but depending on the pups age at test time, wild birds may not be available so artificial opportunities must be utilized. Other things to work on are range, independence, use of nose, search, cooperation etc. but all this usually takes care of its self during basic exposure in the field. They do need a ton of exposure. I like to use actual hunting as much as anything to accomplish the exposure part but non-hunting exposure before hunting is just as necessary. Exposure begins as soon as the pup comes home from the breeder.

Other things to work on around the home and neighborhood are come, fetch, (beginning around 11 weeks) whoa/stay (they mean the same thing) general leash manners.