DD puppy come home next week - help / tips needed.

Pointing, retrieving, flushing, tracking, behavioral issues, puppy training, etc.

Moderator: Moderator Pack

DD puppy come home next week - help / tips needed.

Postby ejm4 » Mon Nov 06, 2017 12:18 pm

We will be bring our first hunting dog home next week. She is a 14 week old DD. Any potty training / crate training tips or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
ejm4
Pup
Pup

Re: DD puppy come home next week - help / tips needed.

Postby TruAblePup » Mon Nov 06, 2017 8:56 pm

From Buffeltaler? I see you're from Penn. If so, I think I may have a littermate.
TruAblePup
Started
Started

Postby ejm4 » Mon Nov 06, 2017 9:16 pm

No, from Mayne.

We live in the Harrisburg area.
ejm4
Pup
Pup

Postby TruAblePup » Tue Nov 07, 2017 1:30 am

ejm4 wrote:No, from Mayne.

We live in the Harrisburg area.

We'll, I am new at this too. But the Drahthaar Puppy Manual is a good start. So is Leerburg's puppy program. Just be careful to temper the lessons for a gun dog. Be careful of the tugging games, etc.

This is pup is a lot of *&^% work! Keeping me busy and lean too. ;) The guys here will have a lot more wisdom to share than I.

Good luck!
TruAblePup
Started
Started

Postby woodboro » Wed Nov 29, 2017 10:47 am

hope Is all well.... 14 weeks old is typically a little older for new pup owners... usually 6-8 weeks.
You probably had your hands full from the get , but I hope you create a journal of goals to reach in your day to day
week by week log. Letting the dog be a pup is all good and fine , but as you also know obedience is very helpful.
woodboro
Master Poster
Master Poster

Postby ejm4 » Wed Nov 29, 2017 11:03 am

She is doing well. Started basic obedience classes and responds well. House training is also going well. Growing leaps and bound every week!!
ejm4
Pup
Pup

Postby 3drahthaars » Wed Nov 29, 2017 12:35 pm

At 14 wks need to focus on socialization... other dogs especially.