Pushing a dog that's shut down

Pointing, retrieving, flushing, tracking, behavioral issues, puppy training, etc.

Moderator: Moderator Pack

Pushing a dog that's shut down

Postby aaronk » Thu Jun 01, 2017 10:21 pm

I'm new to dog training, but witnessed an interesting event that I'd like to get some opinions on. Dog knows hold command, but has never held a duck before. Dog won't hold duck, handler applies more pressure, dog shuts down big time. Handler keeps pushing dog and eventually gets compliance with the hold command. Handler makes comment that they couldn't let the dog win.

In my mind, I would have just backed off the pressure and taken it a little slower since the duck was new to the dog. I guess regardless of whether the dog had held 0 ducks or 1,000 ducks before this, is it more important to teach a dog it will never have the upper hand by powering through a situation like this, or should one just stop and try again another day?
aaronk
Started
Started

Re: Pushing a dog that's shut down

Postby hicntry » Thu Jun 01, 2017 10:55 pm

How old is the dog?
Ignorance can be fixed but stupid is forever.
Law of Logical Argument - Anything is possible IF you don't know what you are talking about.

"Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, Jim Beam in one hand, Airedale in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming "WOO HOO what a ride!"
hicntry
Champion Poster
Champion Poster

Postby aaronk » Thu Jun 01, 2017 10:58 pm

1.5, maybe pushing 2 years.
aaronk
Started
Started

Postby Kiger2 » Fri Jun 02, 2017 12:22 am

Depends on the dogs training level.
If the dog never held a duck before, It DOES not know the "Hold" command apples to "DUCKS". Especiall given most FF programs don't put emphasis on having a dog hold all species.