water concerns?

General Sporting Dog Discussion

Moderator: Moderator Pack

water concerns?

Postby EED » Thu Jul 13, 2017 10:45 am

All, I am a newbie trainer and this is my first post. I apologize for the length.

I have two GWP pups that are not quite 10 months old. We have been slowly working toward the NA test in late August. They are progressing well. Up until last night, I had no concern about the swimming portion. However, last night both pups decided that they did not want to enter the water. I am fairly certain they are not afraid of the water as both will enter the water multiple times as we are out on runs (ie creeks and farm ponds). They swim fine. Last night we were at a new larger pond and they wanted nothing to do with the water. This has given me apprehension about the water portion of the NA test, which will be in a different state. I have no doubt that the lake used for the test will look different that what I have to train on.

My question is how concerned should I be about this? And, if so how to best proceed. I would like to feel very confident that they will enter the water at the test.

I have reviewed other posts on the topic of water intro. Should I expose them to as many bodies of water as possible? How do I best get them in the water if they hesitate? I have not used treats or birds in the water up to this point. It seems unusual to me, but they have very limited interest in bumpers (on land or in the water). They will usually swim out to retrieve a bumper if I bring both pups out at the same time. They have retrieved most birds that i have either shot for them or used for tracking. Their lack of interest in bumpers somewhat concerns me as that is what will be used for the NA test.

Thank you for any advice.
EED
Pup
Pup

Re: water concerns?

Postby SwitchGrassWPG » Thu Jul 13, 2017 11:54 am