Garmin Upland Beeper

General Sporting Dog Discussion

Moderator: Moderator Pack

Garmin Upland Beeper

Postby AverageGuy » Wed Mar 29, 2017 9:01 am

I am considering getting a Garmin Upland Beeper compatible with the TT 550 I am training with. I read 6 reviews on Cabelas last night and they were all horrible, saying the beeper malfunctioned after a brief time.

So I was wondering if anyone here had experience with the current model Garmin Upland Beeper that is compatible with the TT 550?

I have lots of mostly good experience with the prior TT Beepers but that is not pertinent to the current Garmin model, so let's not mix that in here, please. Appreciate hearing your experience with the Garmin if you have any.
AverageGuy
Champion Poster
Champion Poster

Re: Garmin Upland Beeper

Postby jlw034 » Wed Mar 29, 2017 9:38 am

Are you talking about this beeper?

Screenshot_20170329-093726-720x1280.png

I bought one last spring. Used it for one training season, then upgraded to an Astro.

From my experience it works fine, as long as it stays perfectly vertical on top of the dogs neck.

I felt that to be impractical, hence my upgrade. It did work just fine with my Pro550.

If you decide to buy one, I'd sell you mine. Very lightly used.
jlw034
Champion Poster
Champion Poster

Postby AverageGuy » Wed Mar 29, 2017 1:57 pm

Yes that is the one I am inquiring about.
AverageGuy
Champion Poster
Champion Poster

Postby watermen » Wed Mar 29, 2017 9:59 pm

I've got one as well, I bought it last summer, I can't recommend it, quit using it after about 3 tries.
watermen
Started
Started

Postby watermen » Wed Mar 29, 2017 10:03 pm

I would like recommendation for a good point only beeper. Just not an astro fan, I use it but would prefer just a beeper.
watermen
Started
Started

Postby stubblejumper » Wed Mar 29, 2017 10:17 pm

Not a stand alone beeper, but the beeper on my Dogtra 2500 has over 150 hours of use including water snow and -20 temperatures , with no issues.
stubblejumper