Less force?

General Sporting Dog Discussion

Moderator: Moderator Pack

Less force?

Postby Densa44 » Mon Dec 12, 2016 11:48 am

I've noticed that the older I get the less force I use on my dogs. Now to be fair it never was a whole lot to begin with. But in the days before e-collars some of the methods where way over the top (I trained a BLF) and I would use some of them on my dog.

Now with an e-collar, heel, steady, whoa are easy to teach and need very little stimulation. I'm now teaching sight blinds and although I've been taught "force to the pile" I'm using, as one member here calls it " The Amish method" I think it means no force. I'm getting great results, the dogs think that it is great fun, so I see no reason to change.

I'm a better trainer now than I was 50 years ago (wow that is a long time) the equipment is better, the instruction is better, and I think I'm in less of a hurry.

The biggest change in me is; I teach now and not test. I think the dogs are about the same.

Do others notice this or is it just me?
Pine Ridges Ginnieve NA 112 UT pz 1 200
Camridge's Sienna NA 112 UT pz 1 204
Foothill Joce NA 112
Czarina Vom Oberland VJP 70 NA pz 112
Densa44
Champion Poster
Champion Poster

Re: Less force?

Postby 3drahthaars » Mon Dec 12, 2016 12:29 pm

x2 on most all counts.

I believe in the testing systems, but I've tested this dog the least of any.

I've backed off of "training", bumped up my hunting and when this pup was younger her exposure in the field and socialization.

I think that 15 years of judging helped me "mature", take the leap of faith in the system and the breeding that I selected, and most important RELAX and watch my latest pup develop and mature.

I constantly hear from new owners the same questions about the tests... none about actually hunting. Everyone's so caught up in the tests, scores, and they seem to get that breeding bug on the drive home with the 7wk old puppy.