Shotgun Fit

Places to hunt, firearms to use, problems encountered

Moderator: Moderator Pack

Shotgun Fit

Postby Kiger2 » Thu Dec 14, 2017 12:44 am

Since Ryan hijacked his own post, I thought it might be a good time to have a discussion about shotgun fit and wingshooting in general and things we can do to improve both. For mostly new shooters.

First off, Im not an expert shooter. I have good days and bad days. My best day on chukars was 9for 9. Now are limit is eight, but I had to shoot one twice. My worst day (s) are over 30 rounds fired for no limit. I love to shoot, but 30 rounds with no limit, thats frustrating.

A little history.

While i didn't remember it until years later, when i was a kid and old enough to go out and shoot squirrels and jays so they didn't eat all of the filbert crop with the model 12. My Dad took me out in the field and had me shoot at a gopher mound from 20 yards or so. We then went into the barn and he took the stock off. The model 12 has a steel extension that the stock bolts onto. My dad put the extension in the vise and he BENT it. He then sanded the stock so it fit the reciever and we out and shot it again.

What he did was change the drop in the stock so that when I mounted the gun and fired I hit the gopher mound. Now my Dad was not wealthy. He grew up poor during the depression. His mother cleaned and skinned whatever him and his twin brother shot. I suspect that they learned about fit from my grandfather and perhaps through him, his grandfather. My grandfather had a double blackpowder 12 ga. I have the gun and it is clear that the stock was made to fit "someone". I have no idea who, but it fits me and is obviously made with some cast and drop. to fit "someone" It was made sometime in the later 1800's. So for all you new shooters, they knew in the late 1800s if not sooner, that a gun needed to be fit properly to shoot well.