Identity crisis...

Retriever breed specific questions. Kennel information requests, etc.

Moderator: Moderator Pack

Identity crisis...

Postby snicklefritz » Mon Nov 13, 2006 7:09 am

I"m new here, and I'm new to owning retrievers (Am I a 'newbie', a 'rookie', or something else entirely?) Anyway, I am the proud owner of a 'Chessie' - the 'other' retriever. So, I thought I'd start with a funny, but true story to introduce myself. No offense is intended to lab and doxie owners.

Today I took my Chessie pup down to the lake for a swim and a couple of easy retrieves. While I was there a lady approached with her two yellow labs and a miniature dachsund. The two labs cost $1200 each, and the doxie cost $1500. I know that because that's what the lady told me in the very first, paragraph long sentence she ever uttered to me.

Then she looked at my Chessie and said, 'That's an unusual color for a chocolate lab. What's he worth?

Given her opening remarks, I just couldn't help myself as I replied, 'He's priceless. In fact, his genes are competely identical to those of a Chesapeake Bay Retriever. 'Not only that..., I continued, 'both his sire and his dam also have genes identical to Chessies.'

The lady said, 'I have a black one at home.'

I replied, 'They don't come in black. So, how old is your weiner dog?'

She huffed and said, 'He's not a weiner dog, he's a dachsund.'

'And my dog's a Chessie, not a lab', I replied.

She called her dogs, then, and left in a huff. Actually, she left. Her dogs ignored her recall and stayed to play with my Chessie while she yelled at them from the car.

I figured I better leave so she could go home. So, I took my chocolate lab with the Chessie genes and left.

There aren't a lot of Chessies in my neck of the woods. But, there must be a lot of weimeriners. Sometimes, I have one of those too! :roll:
"When the sh*t hits the fan, you will not rise to the occasion. You will fight the way you trained."
snicklefritz
Senior Poster
Senior Poster