Breaking Ice and Retrieving Divers

Retriever breed specific questions. Kennel information requests, etc.

Moderator: Moderator Pack

Breaking Ice and Retrieving Divers

Postby My T Fast Dog » Mon Nov 18, 2002 5:52 pm

I spent much more time this year shooting ducks than I did grouse, woodcock and pheasant. I have a two-year-old GSP that did a great job early this year retrieving wood ducks and puddlers but she is just not built for breaking ice and the cold Lake Huron wind.

I am new to duck hunting and cold-water retrievers, but we have had a great time this year on Golden eyes, Buffleheads, Ruddies, Blue Bills and Mergansers. Can I really expect a retriever like a lab or a chessie to retrieve 12 to 20 ducks when the temperature is 15 degrees and the water is 33 degrees F? I love hunting with a dog. Not only does it make hunting easier I think it really adds to the experience of duck hunting. I am not willing to put a dog in danger if the conciliations are just too much. Does anyone have a lot of experience in these conditions with dogs?
"I didn't teach her how to hunt...she taught me."
My T Fast Dog
Started
Started

Postby R_Man » Mon Nov 18, 2002 9:21 pm

Those sort of conditions, are Chesapeake Bay Retriever conditions. No other dog can handle adverse weather, cold, and waves like a Ches. No, not even a Lab. If you are going to hunt big water, go for a big dog. If you are going to hunt in that kind of weather, get a Ches. (I used to be just like you and then I got a lot older and little wiser!)
R_Man
Started
Started

Go where the birds are...

Postby My T Fast Dog » Tue Nov 19, 2002 12:30 pm