GSPs and tails

Pointer and setter breed specific questions. Kennel information requests, etc.

Moderator: Moderator Pack

GSPs and tails

Postby dawg_doc » Thu Jul 17, 2003 11:13 am

Hi folks,
I fear this is a rather ignorant question, but I'll ask anyway...

I've been training and racing sleddogs for many years and have lots of experience with dogs that run, but not dogs that hunt (well, hunt and not eat it before they return). I've decided its time to get a hunting partner and after lots of research for numerous reasons I am settling into a GSP. Now to the ignorant question.

Does everybody dock the tail? There is some decent evidence out there of the importance of the tail to running and improved gait and performance at least in running dogs. Secondly, I'm not fond of the docked tail; nothing really against it, I just like the looks of a full tail. I realize the breed standards have various levels of docking, but that really doesn't matter to me. The alaskan husky is not a registered 'breed', but we breed for performance, not looks.

I'm in southern Idaho if anyone has suggestions for breeders out this direction. Thanks
dawg_doc

Postby Hank » Thu Jul 17, 2003 3:16 pm

Once you've settled on a breeder you could specifically request that your pup's tail not be docked. However, since they do this at a very young age, that means you'd have to settle on a pup that's too young to judge in term of personality etc. A true flip of the coin on what type of dog you'll get. Also, I doubt any breeder with a good reputation would want one of his dogs running around without a docked tail. I've never seen it cause a problem with a dog when it runs. My PP has a docked tail and she's as quick, as agile, and as fast as any pup I've seen her age with a full tail.