line/in breeding

Genetics, breeding, birth defects, diseases, etc. (No litter listings)

Moderator: Moderator Pack

line/in breeding

Postby DK dreams » Thu Apr 20, 2006 1:14 pm

I am by no means an expert, but here is how I see it.

The only way to truly create and maintain a solid line of most animals is through this method.It is as though one is creating a breed within the breed.
What most people do not realize is all the homework that goes into such a feat. It is not good enough to just take 2 dogs that have comman dogs in their pedigree and breed them. One of the most important factors to consider is : do the dogs in question exemplify the breed to the fullest extent? While no dog is perfect, this still must be kept as the number 1 reason to breed any 2 animals.
Then the dog(s) that appear more than once, have they passed along desireable traits and are they worth breeding back to?
Line/in breeding, IMO, is better than a dog with an open pedigree. this is a dog that does not have any dog repeat in the pedigree. IMO, this is poor breeding because it can not tell you what genes will be inherited, it is more or less, keeping your fingers crossed. We can assume, but when you have breeders who say that genetics is just mother nature, it is because they are telling the truth. But, in truth, if there were line/in breeding in that litter, one could predict the outcome of a litter with much certainty.
Wehle ( I think it is spelled correctly) did it with his pointers, Karin Strammin and her father did it with DKs and there are others who have achieved great success. they were not lucky, just smart. Having a good eye doesn't hurt either.
DK dreams
Champion Poster
Champion Poster

Postby KYgsp » Thu Apr 20, 2006 3:11 pm

You forgot to mention culling the bad ones. Just about everyone that I know of that was successful at line breeding had a ruthless culling program. With a strong line breeding program you will be reinforcing the good along with the bad.
KYgsp