Stud dog owners

Genetics, breeding, birth defects, diseases, etc. (No litter listings)

Moderator: Moderator Pack

Stud dog owners

Postby DrahtsundBraats » Fri Mar 20, 2015 7:24 pm

Just wondering what stud dog owners ask for as far as information when they get inquiries about a breeding. I always thought that a stud dog owner has just as much right as far as a decision to do breeding...but as of late i'm sort of getting the impression that some owners feel that all they have to do is make the telephone call.

Just wondering...
DrahtsundBraats
Champion Poster
Champion Poster

Re: Stud dog owners

Postby Constructeur » Sat Mar 21, 2015 12:30 pm

I'm still very new to all this, so my opinion may only be worth $.01 and not the full $.02 8) I've always assumed that the stud owner gets a say in the whole process. It's not about the money, it's about breeding quality dogs, so why wouldn't they?
Constructeur
Master Poster
Master Poster

Postby Doc E » Sat Mar 21, 2015 12:38 pm

With our stud dog (Labrador) we require all of the current genetic tests (OFA hips, OFA elbows, CERF, CNM, EIC and PRA) and if the female has been bred before, a Brucellosis test within 30 days prior to breeding.
If the bitch has titles, we also need to know.

Doc E
HR UH MHR WR SR Casey RIP my friend :(
HRCH HR UH Tucker 1270 HR Ch. points :D
HRCH HR UH Weezle 250 HR Ch. points :)
Doc E
Champion Poster
Champion Poster

Postby GPBLITZ » Sat Mar 21, 2015 2:07 pm

I reguire Hips , OFA or Penn Hip, good bite, and Brucellosis test, bred before or not. My male will also be tested for brucellosis before each breeding. Everybody seems to have a quality female. There have been females that have come in for breeding that I have sent home with some unhappy owners . Females not up to snuff ( issues not meeting requirement ). Those pups produced are a reflection on your male. Seems many like to blame the male for any down fall with the pups..
GPBLITZ
Champion Poster
Champion Poster