Preventative Minimally Invasive Gastropexy for Griffon?

Diseases, proactive care, geriatric issues, etc.

Moderator: Moderator Pack

Preventative Minimally Invasive Gastropexy for Griffon?

Postby MillieGriff » Mon Aug 25, 2014 10:55 am

Hello,

We are proud owners of our first hunting dog, Millie, a now 13-week-old WPG. Millie lives in the house with us. But we are hoping to get her ready to participate in the NAVHDA NA test when the time comes (although since we are complete newbies this will probably test us more than her!). Based upon her size, our vet indicated that we may want to consider a preventative surgery for bloat when we get her spayed. However, our vet thought that she might be on the lower end in terms of size of needing the surgery. At 13 weeks, she is a little over 19 lbs. I wanted to see if people with more Griffon experience might have a particular feeling about this preventative surgery. (Our vet had never even seen a Griffon before.) Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks!
Attachments
Gremlin.JPG
MillieGriff
Pup
Pup

Re: Preventative Minimally Invasive Gastropexy for Griffon?

Postby GRIFF MAN » Wed Aug 27, 2014 6:28 pm

I have never seen or heard of bloat being a big problem in Griffons. She is not really considered high risk for bloat as long as you follow some basic rules.
No elevated food or water bowls. No food 2hrs before or after exercise. Feed twice daily to minimize the amount of food given at one time.

I have had and breed many Griffons and have never heard of any issues. I always say 'trust' your vet but in this case I would tell them not to do the procedure.

Also, are you waiting to get the dog spayed ? Read lots of research out there before YOU decide !!

GRiffMan
GRIFF MAN * LOVING LIFE AND MY GRIFF!

Aspen Glo's Kennels
Wirehaired Pointing Griffons
www.aspenglokennel.com
GRIFF MAN
Champion Poster
Champion Poster

Postby MillieGriff » Wed Aug 27, 2014 10:46 pm

Hi GriffMan,