New to NAVHDA Testing - What to bring?

North American Versatile Hunting Dog Association Tests

Moderator: Moderator Pack

New to NAVHDA Testing - What to bring?

Postby Will.Johnson » Thu Jul 14, 2016 7:21 am

Next month in August I will be running our French Brittany pup in the Natural Ability Test up in Nebraska (Heartland Chapter). I have zero experience with testing so this will be a new and exciting experience. Goal is to have fun, see other dogs work and learn to be a better trainer / handler.

Any advice on how to prepare for a full day in the Summer heat to keep the pup (and me) comfortable? Obviously plenty of water and food. Is it common to set up an overhead canopy or something similar to create a shade environment to kennel a dog? Not sure if keeping the kennel in the back of the SUV with gate and windows open is the best option. Are dogs staked in the shade as oppose to keeping in the kennel all day? Feel stupid asking these questions but really don't know what to expect. Appreciate any advise.
Will.Johnson
Pup
Pup

Re: New to NAVHDA Testing - What to bring?

Postby Kirby » Thu Jul 14, 2016 10:33 am

Appreciate you asking, I am in the same boat. testing in Oregon Willamette Valley, Aug 12 and looking for advice too. My plan was to remain flexible, take the crate but also have a stake out. Rubbermaid bin for water to dunk him in, lots of fluids for him and me, also will have a 8x8 tarp I can set up as a shade cover should there be nothing there. I've never seen the grounds I am going to.
Kirby
Seasoned
Seasoned

Postby Moose57 » Thu Jul 14, 2016 12:49 pm

I volunteered at several tests before I tested NA last year and the heat was actually beneficial to me. my boy was just tired enough that he was able to focus on his track and do a great job.